The Foot of Blue Mountain

Craft Writing; Ideation and Revision

Introduction

I’ve been reading Peter Elbow’s Writing With Power and have just finished Ursula K. Leguin’s Steering the Craft and there are several topics within these books that I think apply particularly well to my own experience doing module writing for adventure games. I’ll paraphrase the understanding of writing Elbow lays out in his book and then sort out some best practices I’ve identified in my own writing that have helped when writing in this mode. At the very end is a list of things I’ve found pretty helpful or formative in my own writing thus far. I might go back in a few days and add more stuff as I think of it. Or maybe not.

The Two Halves of Writing

Writing is, in my experience, separated into two halves; ideation and revision.

Ideation is the creation and expansion of ideas, thoughts, and concepts. Things like brain dumps, free writing, and having conversations or arguments with other people all help with ideation. Ironically, this is the easiest part of writing. Having ideas is pretty damn easy, and writing them down is a relatively easy skill to learn. Carrying around a notebook and jotting down thoughts and ideas you have, taking notes of interesting quotes or conversations, and writing a few sentences a day about what you’ve done and how you’re feeling are all steps you can take to get better at putting your thoughts down.

Revision is the harder of the two and for good reason. It encompasses everything else about writing. Revision, when approaching a complete work, typically starts with broad scope changes like manuscript evaluation — comments like “this is where your piece is strong, this is where it’s weak” — and structural editing — “Really, I think switching these two sections and reworking the argument to flow that way would lead to a better conclusion” — and moves into line and copy editing. The two are often used interchangeably, but copy editing usually means asking questions like “is this grammatically correct” and line editing is more along the lines of “is this what we’re looking for on a stylistic level?”. You can see pretty clearly how these might overlap; breaking grammatical rules might be an intentional stylistic choice or a crime of passion caused by a late night writing session that desperately needs amending.

This sounds like a lot (and you’re right!) but I’m saying all this to enunciate what it actually means to write. Clever readers will notice that my paragraph about editing was prefaced with “when approaching a complete work”. Writing is the conjunction of both of these processes. If you’ve ever written half of a sentence and deleted it because you came across a better sentence halfway through the current one, you’re doing both halves of writing at the same time.

Nothing about doing this is inherently bad form, but it can lead to some problems. In my own work, sometimes I’ll experience “Writer’s Block” which in my amateur opinion is more aptly named “Editorial Cockblockage”. Sometimes I’ll be overflowing with ideas but be unable to write because my editorial half, overloaded with judging the quality of the unfinished manuscript half-formed in the brain, is constipating the whole process.

Separating these things is something I’m still working on, but the results have been fruitful enough that I wanted to share my own practices for those of you who might be suffering from a similar affliction.

Ideating

Everything I mentioned above when talking about ideating holds true, but I’ll reiterate some stuff here that’s helped me for the sake of completeness:

Revising

Revising is the trickier part, since lots of people do it naturally either before the words are written or immediately after. When I get distracted, I’ll scroll further up in an article and change a few words that stick out to me on a skim and then go back to writing. It’s better to wait until you’ve got a nearly finished draft before you start to change things, or at least to stop writing new material entirely while you’re looking over your work. This helps separate ideating and revising as processes you do while you’re writing. Some other tips I’ve found helpful:

Further Reading

I’ll try to keep adding stuff here as I read it.

Writing as Craft